3 Men and a Little Crazy

Remember, as far as anyone knows, we are a nice, normal family.

#karmaisabitch

Okay, as some of you may or may not know, I posted this status update on FB today out of pure shock and excitement, only for my husband to suggest that I take it down because it simply was too “personal”. Soooo, I’m gonna do it on my blog!

As many of you know, for fourteen years now, I have fought a very long battle to get child support from Brennan’s biological father. When Brennan was 1, I hired an attorney and filed a paternity suit against his father and won full custody of Brennan, causing him to have to pay a sum of $570 a month in child support + provide health insurance. Since that time, he has not paid one single dime, nor has he had a thing to do with Brennan. When I opened my first case with the Attorney General’s Child Support Division office here in Texas, they tried to the best of their ability (which is not saying much) to locate him, but ultimately could not. They’d locate him, only long enough for him to quit his job and move. I tried hiring agencies to help me – they were faced with the same problems. I let it go for a long, long time…wondering if it was just a lost cause…but I knew deep down inside that I’d never stop looking for him and attempting to make him financially responsible for Brennan. Kelsey, on the other hand, was against me attempting to locate him, taking on the whole “I’m his father now, I don’t need another man to support him” outlook – which is indeed very noble (and one of the many personality traits that made me want to marry him), but not the point. I needed this man to understand that I would never stop trying to find him. No matter what. I wanted him to know that he messed with the wrong girl, and it became more of a “Mama Bear” instinct. You are hurting my baby by doing this, you coward…and I’ll be damned if I let you get away with that. Kelsey kept telling me nothing would ever come of it and to let it go. Well, recently, through a secret source in B’s bio-dad’s family that I had been keeping in touch with over the years, I had been informed that in recent years, B’s father had suffered a major stroke that had left him wheelchair-bound. He was living with his mother and daughter (yes, he has a daughter who is about two years younger than Brennan). His mother mainly cared for him, and he received SSI Disability. He had told this source of mine that he “wouldn’t mind paying, so long as it didn’t take much from him – and that he could not pay the back child support”. How gracious of him, but unfortunately for him, he did not have a choice in the matter. Due to his mother’s address being public record, I opened a new case with the Attorney General’s Child Support Division and they served him paperwork to her address, much to his dismay.

After retrieving my mail today, I received a letter from the Attorney General’s office cheerfully stating that “my new debit card was on it’s way”. Naturally, I scoffed and even texted Kelsey a joke about how I was about to get a debit card with no money on it. Then I thought to call the Attorney General’s office to check on my case, simply out of pure boredom and curiosity. I asked the representative if she could check on my case, and she responded, “Yes ma’am. We sent you a payment of $716.30 on 7/08.” I asked, “Excuse me?! Are you sure?! How did this happen? You’ll have to excuse my excitement – this is the first time I’ve received a payment in fourteen years!” She went on to explain that the payment is not coming from a place of employment, but that he is receiving funds on a monthly basis that the Attorney General’s office is now garnishing – and so long as he continues to receive these payments, I will get a check every month. Unfortunately, they can’t tell me where the funds are coming from, but that it is steady income for him. I still can’t believe it’s real. I don’t want to get my hopes up because I’ve been let down so many times by this awful person, but I really do hope and pray that it works out. Friends, please pray that it does. We would like to create a savings account for Brennan and start contributing some of this money towards it for him.

My mother always tells me that “God will provide”, and this is proof of that. It’s been a long, hard fight, and I will still fight to do what’s right for my child so long as his father lives.

I am still in shock over this – I still don’t know whether this is the real deal or not.

Of course, updates will be provided as more info comes along. 👋
20140723-233534-84934989.jpg

4 comments on “#karmaisabitch

  1. Jim
    July 24, 2014

    If he’s on SSI that’s where its coming from. Regardless, it’s your money. Don’t start feeling sorry for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lisamsmith58
      July 24, 2014

      And you are absolutely right, sir. Found that out today. I find that each time I call, I get more and more information. Maybe they should look more into training their reps on how “one-call resolution” works. 😝
      #providianshoutout #seewhatididthere

      Like

  2. Nydia
    August 15, 2014

    Glad to know that things are finally looking up for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
3 Men and a Little Crazy

Remember, as far as anyone knows, we are a nice, normal family.

Summer's Blog

Crazy Bipolar Full Time Mom Kinda Life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

