3 Men and a Little Crazy

Remember, as far as anyone knows, we are a nice, normal family.

Kids Today…SMH

Of course, I know that you moms out there with teens have noticed that your son/daughter is a slave to their iPhone, iPad, Android device, laptop, XBOX 360, Playstation, etc. etc. ETC.
But I am curious to know if any of you have noticed this curious phenomenon in which the boys and girls SHARE the game-playing role now? And I don’t mean games in the literal sense. I mean games in the psychological sense.

I know that when I was a teenage girl – even a girl in my twenties – my friends and I became experts (in our minds, of course) at roping guys in with our looks and personalities, only to trap them into silly game-playing relationships (you know, the “hard-to-get” game, the “Do you think I’m pretty” game, the “I think I love you, do you love me” game) that were always kinda blithely elvish and entertaining at first…until they got totally sick of it and broke our widdle hearts.
This, apparently, is no more, thanks to social media and technology. Kids can talk to each other without really “talking” to each other, and by that, I mean using text messaging and social media postings/comments, etc. They also no longer go outside. Why would they? All of their prime entertainment is within a hand’s reach of a grasp at any given moment. All of this being said, the two sexes seem to have evolved and learned how to be just as equally melodramatic, exagerrated, and hokey as the other (see Jaden Smith’s Tweets are now Memes).
This causes a lot of problems for me as a mom, because my little boy’s heart gets broken easily. He suffers from what he calls “the good guy curse”. See below.

20140723-110134-39694975.jpg

He’s shown me many a text between him and other girls his age that involve a LOT of game-playing. Frequently, they go a lot like this:

B: (Shows a picture of his studly abs in the bathroom mirror)
Girl: “……wow”
B: “What does that mean? Is that good?”
Girl: 😶
B: “Why the face?”
Girl: “There are no words.”
B: “Are you playing games?”
Girl: “Oh, you want to play a game?”
B: “No, I want to know if you’re playing a game.”
Girl: “What kind of game? I like games.”

Now, this girl seems to have caught on to what Brennan is doing. She actually has a boyfriend – that is Brennan’s FRIEND. This is something they do frequently, apparently. Try to steal their friends’ girlfriends. Smh. Another thing I don’t get. His reasoning behind it?
“He’s stolen a ton of girls from me.”
Oh, okay, so that makes it okay, I guess. #facepalm

Other times, I see texts from girls that say stupid crap like, “…what would you say…if I said…I might fall for you this summer…”
What’s with all the ellipses?! Does that make it more dramatic?! I even found a note in Brennan’s room while I was in there one day while he was in the shower that you KNOW I just HAD to read. The entire note, front and back, was hammy and theatrical.

“I love you, but I can’t be with you right now. I don’t want you to be with anyone else, though. Oh, how you must hate me. Late at night, I cry myself to sleep thinking about it. I’m a horrible person with problems. You don’t want me. You deserve so much better…but I don’t think I can handle seeing you with someone else. I’ve never met anyone like you before…blah blah blah…I’m a twat, the end.”

You get it.

The worst thing about THIS particular girl is that she is a girl that Brennan likes and has liked for a very long time. She has dated him, then broken up with him, telling him that she can only “see him as a friend”, only to text him a couple of weeks later with the above. She even dated him again, then broke up with him again, citing the same exact reason as the first time she dumped him. He texted me that night with the following:

B: “I want to die.”
Me: “Why?”
B: “Her.”

UGH. I wanted to find out where this girl lived and tear her pretty little hairs out, one by one.

I am finding, however, that this generation of teens have closer relationships with their parents, and are talking to them more. This is SUCH a good thing. Our kids know way more at the ages they are at than we EVER did at theirs. I don’t know about you guys, but I want my children to be well-informed about life. I’m not throwing them to the wolves. I’m glad my boys feel like they can come to me – unashamed – about anything going on in their lives.

This summer has been a productive one, I can say that. Brennan is now doing chores and earning money. I never thought in a million years that I could get him to do that. Caden is too, but he was ready and willing for that challenge as soon as it was presented to him. Lol!

Anyway, those are my thoughts for now. Curious about you other parents with teens – if you’re experiencing the same drama-filled soap operas of lives that I am. Comments, puh-leese…✌️

20140724-125334-46414297.jpg

4 comments on “Kids Today…SMH

  1. Kerrie Gill
    July 23, 2014

    I know it will be a long time from now but I’m not looking forward to liams teenage years and the love triangles and everything else

    Like

    • lisamsmith58
      July 24, 2014

      It seems like a long time, but before you know it, it’ll be here. B has sprouted from baby -> child -> teen right before my eyes.
      I remember when we used to lie in bed together at night when he was a toddler, giggling over limericks, and now, I’m lucky if he gives me five minutes of his precious time to listen to anything I have to say. 😝

      Like

  2. Anna
    July 23, 2014

    My kids are 7, 5, and 2. The only drama I have right now is who is next to brush their teeth. Can’t help with teenage issues right now. I didn’t really date in middle and high school either. :/ im so boring!

    Like

    • lisamsmith58
      July 24, 2014

      Oh, it’s comin’, Anna…and fast. AND yours are all going to be teens at the same time! Smh…I feel for you, girl. Lol! 😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
3 Men and a Little Crazy

Remember, as far as anyone knows, we are a nice, normal family.

Summer's Blog

Crazy Bipolar Full Time Mom Kinda Life

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

